- Tuition costs are based on several mandatory components, set by the Office of Planning and Budgeting. The tuition component explanation can be found here.
1. International Student Insurance
All students on F1 and J1 visas are automatically enrolled for health insurance. Updates to coverage can be made on MyUW, or if you already have health insurance coverage, you can request the fee be waived by the third Friday (Tuition Due Date) of the quarter by contacting the
Insurance Office. For more information, please refer to the International Student Health
Insurance Plan (ISHIP).
In 1976 students formed the Washington Student Public Interest Research Group (WashPIRG) to investigate problems, educate the public about solutions, and lobby for reforms on issues of general public interest.
3. WSA Washington Student Association
The Washington Student Association pursues affordable, accessible, and quality higher education for students in the State of Washington.
|Charge||Cost||Reason for charge|
|you registered for the first time between the 1st and10th day of the quarter|
|Late Registration||$75||you registered for the first time after the 10th day of the quarter|
|Change of Registration||$20||for any add, drop, or change of registration processed after the 7th calendar day of the quarter - only one change of registration fee is charged per day|
|Late Payment||$50||past due tuition and mandatory fee balances between $50 and $249.99|
|Late Payment||$120||past due tuition and mandatory fee balances of $250 and above|
|Check Replacement Fee||$25||request for a replacement financial aid check due to loss or misplacement of the original check|
|Returned Items||$25||for any check and/or webcheck returned from your bank as unpaid|
|Tuition Forfeiture Fee||
50% or 100% of tuition
|for any time changes are made to your class schedule after the 7th calendar day of the quarter -resulting in you dropping from one tuition rate to another, or withdrawing completely from your classes|
More student fee information is available on the Office of Planning & Budgeting website.
Over 18 credit surcharge
If you are an undergraduate, graduate or law student and are registered for more than 18 credits, you are charged additional tuition (a surcharge) for each credit over 18. If you make changes to your class schedule after the first week of the quarter which lowers your credit load below 18 credits, you will be charged a forfeiture of one-half the cost of the surcharge. The surcharge for each credit above 18 will not be reduced for classes dropped after the 30th day of the quarter.
See tuition rates for surcharge amounts.